Posted by: Matrixity | November 20, 2007

Ice Cream in the Amazon? In Charleston!

Okay….remember this post about me finding the acai ice cream, walking the planks and the huge bats? Ice Cream in the Amazon. Well, as part of reliving my trip over and over again, I have had many opportunities to tell people about it. I feel like I just went on yesterday. I am a member of a bible study that meets in someone’s home every Monday night and I presented my trip to them in powerpoint form on October 22. They, along with others as well as my church, helped to fund my going. I wanted to do something special for them to make them feel like they were part of the trip. In addition to the show, I served foods that I ate when I was down there. I ordered some items from Brazil and they were shipped here to me. Some things I was able to find here, like the hearts of palm, papaya and cheese and crackers. The things I ordered from Brazil were the Guarana Antarctica, the Bauducco Chocottone and the Garoto Serenada de Amor. We had foods as native as I could get to being there!

The dessert to top things off was that purple ice cream from the Amazon…the acai ice cream. I searched the internet for weeks before trying to find anyone who had it, imported it..whatever. I could not find it. The closest thing that I did find was an acai sorbet made by Haagen Dazs. I called the Haagen Dazs in the market downtown. They informed me that it was only available in California…that the berries were imported from Brazil to California and the sorbet was very limited. I began to call all the local stores here in town…literally every store… and asked them ALL to try to order some as they already sold other flavors of Haagen Dazs. No luck there. No one carried any of this special reserve series of sorbet.

I went to the Haagen-Dazs site and saw where it could be ordered but at very high shipping costs. That was a great cost..too much. I did see where the sorbet was available in the larger northern cities like New York and Boston and then in California. None at any store near me. The wonderful people at Haagen Dazs came to my rescue. After explaining the situation, the trip and why I just had to get some sorbet, somehow, someway, they answered my prayer. The wonderful people at Haagen Dazs understood my urgency to get some of the Brazilian Acai Sorbet, part of the Reserve Series. My hunt came to an end. At first I was communicating with Diane who then put me in touch with a woman named Summer. They were both great! After a few emails back and forth, I got a complimentary shipment of the Brazilian Acai Berry Sorbet. It came in a sleeve of 8 pints and was delivered overnight by Federal Express packed in dry ice. Did I say complimentary? Can we say random acts of kindness? They certainly did not have to do it. The sorbet is not available anywhere near me and it does not look like it will be any time soon.

I served it to my ladies in my Monday night bible study. They all liked it. It was the fitting end to the presentation. Big thanks to Haagen Dazs for their gift. Here we all are enjoying the acai sorbet!  Click to see bigger picture!

im000772.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

